Chasing Josh

Tom and Jerry. Yogi and Boo Boo. My color commentary, Josh Chase, and me.

What do we all have in common? A disproportionate, highly comical size difference between the pairs.

The photograph in my first post doesn’t do the differential any justice. Picture this: I am 5’7” and 150 pounds, soaking wet. Meanwhile, Josh is 6’4″ and over 300 pounds.

Is this comical to you yet?

When I first met Josh the night before our first game together, my first thought was, “Wow… It’s a really good thing we’re on radio. No one can see us!”

I still think that now.

Josh was actually a member of the state champion Trinity Catholic Celtics football team in 2005. He was a starting offensive lineman on that team, and I can’t say he’s gotten any smaller since. Let’s put this into perspective: I was issued a size small WITG Real Oldies 104.7 polo. Josh was handed a 3XL shirt–and admitted he’d probably more comfortable in a 4XL.

I wouldn’t say Josh is a teddy bear, exactly, but he fits the perfect description of one of his favorite sayings: “He is a big boy.” Josh is really playful, both on air and off, and he likes to have fun. He’s been a blast to be around, and has definitely helped me in my transition as a sports broadcaster.

Leave a Reply

